skip to main content
Site banner



By now we have digested the success in Parliament (Second Reading vote 70:50) on the night of Wednesday 26 June. I now ask for supporters to please give effort towards the next vote in Parliament.

For anyone who wants to see details of the 20 speeches given by MPs you will find these in the Hansard transcript for that day by moving down the text till you get to SPEAKER’S STATEMENTS here.

The next debate on the End of Life Choice Bill will take place in Parliament on Wednesday 31 July 2019. Once we know more details about the timing, we will put this information on the home page of this website and on the EOLC website under ‘Events’ so you can watch the debate on TV if you wish.

There will be a total of 8 sessions in 2019, including 31 July, when the End of Life Choice Bill can be debated by the Committee of the whole House. Discussions are currently happening amongst supportive MPs to see the best way to encourage a positive outcome.

Many of the votes achieved on 26 June were due to the actions of supporters in presenting MPs with irrefutable data – so to all our supporters, please give yourselves a pat on the back and then take a deep breath before the next round!

Now is a good time to show appreciation to those MPs who worked to support the cause of dignity in dying, so why not send a letter or email to an MP to thank them for their support. See a list of supportive MPs below.

Mary Panko

President EOLC


Please send the MPs who supported the Bill in its Second Reading a brief email thanking them. It is more polite to send individualised emails rather than blind copying all MPs.

Jacinda Ardern
Kelvin Davis
Andrew Little
Grant Robertson
Megan Woods
Chris Hipkins
Carmel Jean Sepuloni
David Parker
Stuart Nash
Priyanca Radhakrishnan
Raymond Huo
Iain Francis Lees-Galloway
Jan Tinetti
Willow-Jean Prime
Kris Faafoi
Willie Jackson
Clare Curran
Ruth Dyson
Poto Williams
Louisa Wall
Ginny Andersen
Jo Luxton
Liz Craig
Marja Lubeck
Trevor Mallard
Paul Eagle
Tamati Coffey
Kieran Mcanulty
Angie Warren-Clark
Greg O'Connor
Nanaia Mahuta
Peeni Henare
Duncan Webb
Amy Adams
Paula Bennett
Chris Bishop
Judith Collins
Matt Doocey
Andrew Falloon
Brett Hudson
Nikki Kaye
Matt King
Barbara Kuriger
Mark Mitchell
Scott Simpson
Stuart Smith
Erica Stanford
Tim Van de Molen
Nicola Willis
Jian Yang
Lawrence Yule
James Shaw
Marama Davidson
Julie Anne Genter
Eugenie Sage
Gareth Hughes
Jan Logie
Chlöe Swarbrick
Golriz Ghahraman
Winston Peters
Ron Mark
Tracey Martin
Fletcher Tabuteau
Darroch Ball
Clayton Mitchell
Mark Patterson
Shane Jones
Jenny Marcroft
David Seymour
Jami-Lee Ross


Now for the Third Reading of the End of Life Choice Bill

+ Text Size -
Original generation time 2.1045 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0353 seconds.